Skip navigation



The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) was founded in 1991 to create a new post-Cold War era in central and eastern Europe, furthering progress towards 'market-oriented economies and the promotion of private and entrepreneurial initiative.


The EBRD is owned by 64 countries, the European Union and the European Investment Bank. The EBRD President is currently Sir Suma Chakrabarti, who took office in 2012. Each shareholder is represented on the Board of Governors, which has overall authority over the Bank.

Under the guidance of the Board of Directors, the President manages the work of the Bank. The Executive Committee and senior leadership group advise the President and oversee EBRD activities.

More information about organizational matters and public procurement rules within the OECD - soon.